Swissair111.org    forums.swissair111.org    Discussion  Hop To Forum Categories  SR111 Messages    Puzzled - Why did the IFEN wiring arc?

Moderators: BF, Mark Fetherolf
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Puzzled - Why did the IFEN wiring arc?
 Login/Join

posted
I'm probably coming into this issue a lot later than most of the folks who frequent this site, so I apologize if I'm covering old ground here. I've been interested in this accident for quite some time, but didn't do a lot of web surfing on it as there is almost never any real info available until the accident investigation is complete. Lots of hear-say and speculation, but not much info.

However, I work for Transport Canada, and now I find myself (along with many other coworkers) tasked to implement the nine new recommendations that fall within my area of responsibility. So I am studying the report, trying to better understand what happened.

I'm aware that there were many problems with the IFEN, but from a technical point of view I can't put my finger on any identified problem that could have caused an IFEN wire to arc. What have I missed?

I don't have an axe to grind either way on this issue - I just want to understand what happened. Can anyone point me to some part of the TSB report that sheds some light on why the IFEN wires arced? Or failing that, are there any rumours or speculation that might give a clue?

I do know a few of the TSB investigators, but they work in a different part of the city than I do, so I don't actually see them very often. Next time I run into one of them I'll pick his brain. They have been pretty reluctant to get into details over the past four years, but now that the report is public they should be able to provide a bit more info.

Kevin Horton

Posts: 15 | Location: Ottawa | Registered: Thu March 27 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post