Swissair111.org    forums.swissair111.org    Discussion  Hop To Forum Categories  SR111 Messages    CVR Battery Backup

Moderators: BF, Mark Fetherolf
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

CVR Battery Backup
 Login/Join

posted
Barbara you've delved more deeply into airline saftey than I can possibly imagine. I've always been interested in the topic due to my fear of airliner flight, but I'm no expert. I'm wondering if you can help me with a question I have.

I know that the CVR and FDR on the plane failed when the electrical systems were severed, I also know that having a battery backup for the FDR would be pointless because all the control surfaces wouldn't be able to relay information without power. But I'm wondering would it be feasable to have a battery backup of the CVR so that it wouldn't fail when electrical power is lost, and also was that mentioned anywhere in the CTSB's reccomendations?

"Those Who Don't Learn From The Past Are Doomed To Repeat It."

Posts: 186 | Registered: Sun July 09 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Murray, I'm checking into this for you with IASA.

Posts: 2580 | Location: USA | Registered: Sun April 07 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
You are correct in that the TSB did recommend a battery-powered CVR be instituted. They had some other recs as well..... to do with the utility of the Quick Access Recorder and the potentiality of an image recorder. Chairman Jim Hall of the NTSB later strongly supported the concept of image recording as being cheap and readily adaptable for business jets and turboprops.
1.11.4 Lack of CVR Information