Swissair111.org    forums.swissair111.org    Discussion  Hop To Forum Categories  SR111 Messages    CBC Fifth Estate owes SR111 families an apology

Moderators: BF, Mark Fetherolf
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

CBC Fifth Estate owes SR111 families an apology
 Login/Join

posted
I would like to comment on the CBC Fifth Estate September 16, 2011 broadcast of ‘Swissair 111, the Untold Story”.

I’m an independent researcher that has spent many years looking into the crash of Swissair Flight 111. Outside of the Transportation Safety Board of Canada, and other investigating groups, I guess I know as much about this crash as anyone.

My research was so thorough, that I was even able to identify the installers of the In-Flight Entertainment system on SR111 (members of the ‘overhead’ and ‘floor’ groups), and those that fed the entertainment system cables into the cockpit, and connected its power cables to the breaker panels, starting on September 3rd, 1997.

Over the years, I’ve come to appreciate the detailed forensic work of the Transportation Safety Board of Canada in its investigation, as well as the results of the final report.

The TSB’s main focus was on the thermal-acoustical ‘insulating blankets’ installed in behind the walls and ceiling, which reduces external noise, and helps to control the temperature in the passenger cabin. More specifically, their focus was on the outer film that covers those insulating blankets, called Metallized PET (Polyester Ethylene Terephthalate). It has the undesired property of propagating fire. In other words, it’s not fire-proof, as one would expect it to be. The FAA had been looking at the combustible insulation blankets for several years before to the crash, in response to some incidents of fires in airplanes between 1993 and 1995.